Understand How Copyright Works on Flickr

Introduction:

Flickr is a popular photo partner website, but it has a lot of questions about copyright and how other people can use your photos. The good thing is that, by default, a new intellectual account is “All Rights Reserved” and that means, that your photos cannot be copied without your permission.

However, you have other options and you can open all or just a selection of your Flickr images if you wish. It is important to note that your uploads may be protected from copyright infringement and may be used by other users as well.

Where can I find copyright information on Flickr photos?

Each image uploaded to Flickr is marked with licensing information. So it is clear, which is allowed for this image. When an image is enlarged on Flickr, you will see a list of information below the image and from the comments. Under this information will be the licensing information. This will be called “All Rights Reserved” or will point to one of the Creative Commons licenses that the user has selected for this image.

If the image is marked with “© All rights reserved” it means that the image is not allowed without permission. There is no space here: you cannot use the image without permission. If you use such an image, you are infringing that person’s copyright, and your use is illegal.

If the image is marked with a Creative Commons license, see the specific usage rights granted for that specific license. It’s very easy on the Creative Commons website. If you have any questions, contact the user who uploaded the image and ask if you can use it. Be sure to include your goal in mind.

What if I want to use the ‘All Rights Reserved’ image?

Simply put, you need to contact the person who took the photo and if it is marked as ‘All Rights Reserved. If the image means you have a lot of (legal) stuff and send them a message via Flickr Mail.

The user cannot allow you to use the image or ask for money. This is the person who owns the copyright to the photo (the person who took the photo). Many Flickr users use the ‘All Rights Reserved’ setting to control what they allow. Some Flickr users just don’t want to use their photos. Others may be bound by an agreement to sell another use right, and the image is the same as the portfolio piece on Flickr. The point is, you can’t use this image as long as you ask. Don’t even download it unless you have permission.

How do I save my photos on Flickr?

Flickr makes it very easy for you to license and update all the images you upload to the website. The default setting is ‘All rights reserved. If you have an old account, double-check that it is set up correctly. You can change the default on your account to whatever you like. To do this, go to your Account> Privacy & Permissions> Go to> Updates and adjust the license for any new content. Also, if you want to set different permissions on different images, you can set them individually when viewing or uploading an image.

The strongest copyright protection setting available on Flickr is “© All rights reserved.” This means that you are not allowed to copy or use your photos without your permission for any reason or purpose.

Creative Commons license:

Within the Creative Commons license options, you will get different permissions. For example, you can use any image for personal reasons, but not for commercial purposes. Make sure to read all CC licenses carefully until you understand everything about them before choosing one.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *